deaf doggess

I once had a Boston who was deaf… she was so smart as a puppy we didn’t notice. An old Victorian house with wooden floors, so when I gave commands I usually stomped my foot for attention, lol/

She took up residence with a dear old gentleman… he’d gotten a dog through us once before and- get a tissue you’ll need it… He and the dog visited his wife (alzheimers patient) at her nursing home twice a day. The day his wife passed away, he left the little Boston at home; the house burned down. When he got home, he had a heart attack.

So, when he got out of the hospital, he had his grandson come straight to us. He was crying as he asked me if we had a dog he could have. I told him the only dog was this little deaf girl, and I was worried about him since he was fragile, elderly, and hard of hearing too. I told him lets make it a trial, and see if she’s okay with you.

You know, his grandson called me later. His son called me. Both his daughters called me. Hell, his vet actually called me. So it became a forever home… really. I went back years later to that little town, and stopped by his sons business. Turns out his dad had passed away, but there that little girl was, bouncing around, having a great time. And her “brother” played the same joke on people we had- “Sure, go ahead, call her for dinner…”

Leave a comment